Home / Academics / Pre-School / Curriculum

UK Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The English School of Mongolia (ESM) – Preschool aims to adapt and customize the UK Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum Framework, in consideration of the developmental benchmarks of the Mongolian and International children.

The curriculum for children three to five years old, will proceed to their respective classes according to age group, as follows:

3-Year Olds – First Step Class

4-Year Olds – Foundation Stage Class

5-Year Olds – Transition Stage Class

The EYFS Profile summaries and describes children’s attainment at the end of preschool. It is based on ongoing observation and assessment in the three prime and four specific areas of learning, and the three characteristics of effective learning, set out below:

The prime areas of learning:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning:


  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

Characteristics of effective learning:

  • playing and exploring
  • active learning
  • creating and thinking critically

The (ESM) – Preschool regards the following desirable learning outcomes for young children by the end of their preschool experience:


  • Wellness
  • Communication
  • Valuing Culture
  • Intellectual Empowerment
  • Respect for Self, Others and the Environment